pumpkin chocolate chip muffins. (V)

Last semester, I was in a small class where one student brought in a snack each week to share with everyone. When it was my turn, I had no idea what to bring! I like experimenting with vegan cooking and baking, and since one girl in the class is vegan, I wanted to make sure she could eat too. After a long time searching, I found a great recipe for vegan pumpkin muffins from The Post Punk Kitchen, but of course I wanted to adapt the recipe to make it a liiitle healthier.. and add a bit of chocolate. (because everyone likes chocolate)

The original recipe lists molasses as an ingredient, but since I was too lazy to go buy some, I omitted this. If you do have blackstrap molasses though, I would suggest trying it in the recipe for a nutritious kick! image

Don’t they look delicious?!

My version has less sugar, fat, and lacks molasses, but they will still taste great, I promise!

Makes 12 muffins.

ingredients:

  • 1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour and ¾ cup whole wheat flour (or use 1 ¾ cups white whole wheat flour if you have that)
  • ¾ cup brown sugar
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • ½ tsp ground nutmeg
  • ½ tsp ground ginger
  • ½ tsp pumpkin spice
  • 1/8 tsp ground cloves
  • 1 ½ cups pumpkin
  • ½ cup almond milk
  • ½ cup applesauce
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 Tbsps maple syrup
  • ½ cup vegan chocolate chips

directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F and grease a twelve-muffin tin (*see note below for alternative)
  2. Sift together flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and spices.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together pumpkin, almond milk, applesauce, vanilla, maple syrup and vegan chocolate chips.
  4. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and mix.
  5. Fill the muffin cups two-thirds full. Bake for 18 to 20 minutes.

*Note: for this recipe I used large baking cups from the brand, “If You Care,” so greasing wasn’t necessary. I was in need of more baking cups, and when I saw all the benefits of these beauties (environmentally friendly, unbleached, chlorine-free, cute box...) AND they were on sale, I just had to get them. First time I tried these cups, and I highly recommend them! Find more information about them on their website here.

2 thoughts on “pumpkin chocolate chip muffins. (V)

Leave a comment

