PB & melted banana oatmeal (V, GF)

For the past 6 months, I’ve been eating oatmeal for breakfast on an almost daily basis. Not those instant oatmeal packets filled with sugar and artificial flavoring, but good old fashioned rolled oats. Why, you may ask? Don’t worry, I got you. ;) Here’s a list for you:

  • Oatmeal is packed with soluble fiber. Meaning: it will keep you full for a long time.
  • There are so many possibilities! Add whatever toppings to make your bowl more exciting.
  • It’s fast. It can be made in 2 minutes or less. (no excuses for skipping breakfast!)
  • It’s CHEAP. Like, really cheap. Approximately $0.15 per serving!
  • Oats are a kitchen staple. They can be used in so many other great recipes.

Basically, oatmeal is like a savior for anyone, especially college students or any busy person.

One of my favorite blogs I have been (silently) following since last summer is www.theoatmealartist.com She has hundreds (literally, hundreds!) of oatmeal variations. She is clearly an expert at making and eating oatmeal, so definitely check her blog out. (:

So here is my favorite way to make oatmeal! Peanut butter and melted banana oatmeal. It can look pretty messy compared to these pictures, but it tastes amazing and I love all the different textures. Also because bananas can be found year-round for cheap (or free if you steal them from your dining hall…), and I also steal peanut butter on the regular (shh, I’ll talk about that later) this is my go-to breakfast. And yes, I know it’s a little ridiculous the number of pictures I took for such a simple recipe.

pbbananaoatmeal1 ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup old fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 banana
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter
  • dash of cinnamon
  • splash of almond milk

directions:

  1. Add oats to bowl.
  2. Slice banana into bite-size pieces and add to bowl.
  3. Add peanut butter.
  4. Add dash of cinnamon.
  5. Pour as much milk as you like, but enough to at least cover the oats.
  6. Stir and microwave for 2 minutes.
  7. Add toppings if you like.

pbbananaoatmeal2I usually just divide the banana pieces by hand because it’s faster, but for presentation reasons, I nicely and evenly cut them for you. You’re welcome. pbbananaoatmeal3Add a big glob of peanut butter. Mmm, peanut butter.pbbananaoatmeal4As you can see, I like a lot of cinnamon.. I also love using the Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Spice interchangeably.pbbananaoatmeal5Add whatever liquid you like, but I prefer unsweetened almond milk. The almond milk gives it a delicious creamy taste. pbbananaoatmeal6Stir, pop in the microwave, and eat! I added a spoonful of chia seeds, blueberries and granola as toppings after for decoration.pbbananaoatmeal9

BAM! oatmeal. yum.

2 thoughts on “PB & melted banana oatmeal (V, GF)

  1. Looks yummy! Thanks for the recipe, as soon as I can get some berries I am going to give this a try. Anything away from my usual banana chopped on oats routine to add a bit of spice. :)

Leave a comment

